AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

For video editors searching for a Mac Studio, the first choice is whether your work belongs at a fixed desk or needs to travel. My top desktop pick is the 2026 Mac Studio with M5 Max, with support for five external displays and a compact, quiet chassis. The M4 Max Mac Studio pairs a 40-core GPU with 128GB of memory, while the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Max and 48GB makes more sense if you need an editing screen and workstation performance away from your desk.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

This lineup includes three MacBook Pros, so I rank them as alternatives for editors considering a portable Mac rather than as Mac Studio replacements in every workflow. The deciding tradeoffs are desktop connectivity and sustained desk setup versus built-in display and mobility, plus how much unified memory your footage, effects, and apps need at once. A Mac Studio requires a separate display and peripherals; a laptop bundles a screen and can move with you.

5
compared
1
brands
2
chips
128GB
max unified memory
Which mac studio for video editing should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
Best Overall Mac Studio for a Multi-Display Editing Suite
M5 Max chip for demanding creative workflows
See on Amazon →
Editors who want a compact desktop with a stated 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, and 2TB SSD.
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max
Specified 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU
View on Amazon →
Mobile editors who want an M5 Max laptop with specified 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, a 2TB SSD, and a built-in XDR display.
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch La
18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
View on Amazon →
Editors seeking a 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pro with a built-in XDR display and four-display support, in Silver.
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi
18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
View on Amazon →
Editors who need a portable 16-inch workstation and expect 48GB memory to cover their projects.
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi
M5 Max with 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
View on Amazon →
Unified memory — compared
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max128GB
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch La128GB
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi128GB
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi48GB
Pros & cons at a glance
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
✓ M5 Max chip for demanding creative workflows
✗ No display is included
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max
✓ Specified 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU
✗ No display is included or described
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch La
✓ 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
✗ Laptop form factor adds weight compared with carrying only a desktop computer between fixed setups
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi
✓ 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
✗ No exact battery runtime is provided in the listing
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wi
✓ M5 Max with 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
✗ Less memory than either 128GB MacBook Pro configuration

Complete the kit

Felt Furniture Pads 300 Pieces, Furniture Pads for Hardwo...
Felt Furniture Pads 300 Pieces, Furniture Pads for Hardwo…
Add to your setup →
Felt Furniture Pads X-Protector - 48 PCS 1" - Premium Fel...
Felt Furniture Pads X-Protector – 48 PCS 1" – Premium Fel…
Add to your setup →
Felt Furniture Pads for Hardwood Floors -Yelanon Felt Pad...
Felt Furniture Pads for Hardwood Floors -Yelanon Felt Pad…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The 2026 M5 Max Mac Studio is the strongest fit for a fixed editing suite that can use up to five external displays and four Thunderbolt 5 ports.
  • The M4 Max Mac Studio includes a 40-core GPU, 128GB of unified memory, and 2TB SSD, but the listing does not specify its port count or display limit.
  • The 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pros combine substantial memory with portability, but their four-display support and laptop form factor do not make them desktop Mac Studios.
  • The 48GB M5 Max MacBook Pro is the more mobile, lower-memory option; it can suit editing on the go but has less headroom than either 128GB configuration.
  • Choose based on the complete editing station: Mac Studio listings describe the computer alone, while the MacBook Pros include a 16.2-inch XDR display.
2
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max
Best Specified Configuration for Memory-Heavy Editing
1
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
Best Overall Mac Studio for a Multi-Display Editing Suite
3
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch La
Best Portable Workstation with a Specified 40-Core GPU

Our Top Mac Studio For Video Editing Picks

Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max ChipApple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max ChipBest Overall Mac Studio for a Multi-Display Editing SuiteChip: Apple M5 MaxMaximum unified memory: Up to 128GBMemory bandwidth: Up to 614GB/sVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSDApple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSDBest Specified Configuration for Memory-Heavy EditingChip: Apple M4 MaxCPU: 16-coreGPU: 40-coreVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch Laptop with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD – Space BlackApple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch Laptop with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD - Space BlackBest Portable Workstation with a Specified 40-Core GPUChip: Apple M5 MaxCPU: 18-coreGPU: 40-core with Neural AcceleratorVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Memory, 2TB SSD, SilverApple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Memory, 2TB SSD, SilverBest Silver Portable Alternative for a Four-Display SetupChip: Apple M5 MaxCPU: 18-coreGPU: 40-coreVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space BlackApple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space BlackBest Lower-Memory Portable OptionChip: Apple M5 MaxCPU: 18-coreGPU: 40-coreVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
mac studio for video editingChipExternal displaysCPUGPU
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Apple M5 MaxUp to 5——
Apple Mac Studio with M4 MaxApple M4 Max—16-core40-core
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch LaApple M5 MaxUp to 418-core40-core with Neural Accelerator
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wiApple M5 MaxUp to 418-core40-core
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wiApple M5 MaxUp to 418-core40-core

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip

    Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip

    Best Overall Mac Studio for a Multi-Display Editing Suite

    View on Amazon

    This is my first choice for an editor building a dedicated workstation around the M5 Max Mac Studio. Its compact 7.76-inch-square enclosure is designed to sit beneath a display, and the listing describes an advanced thermal system intended to keep the computer quiet under heavy workloads. For long editing sessions, that desktop arrangement leaves the screen, keyboard, and audio setup where you want them instead of requiring a laptop to serve as the whole workstation.

    The most useful distinction from the M4 Max Mac Studio is the newer M5 Max chip and support for up to five external displays; the M4 listing instead specifies 128GB memory, 40 GPU cores, and 2TB of storage. This M5 Max listing gives a memory ceiling of 128GB and bandwidth up to 614GB/s, but it does not specify the CPU or GPU core counts or a bundled storage capacity. I would verify the exact configuration before buying, especially if a project depends on ample internal media space.

    Four Thunderbolt 5 ports, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and an SDXC slot give this model a broader desk-side connection set than the MacBook Pros listed here. Still, the computer has no included display, and the fixed desktop form factor cannot follow an editor between locations. Its memory and storage are also configuration choices to settle up front, rather than details to assume from the listing.

    Pros:
    • M5 Max chip for demanding creative workflows
    • Supports up to five external displays
    • Four Thunderbolt 5 ports plus HDMI, SDXC, USB-C, and USB-A
    • Compact enclosure with a thermal system described as quiet under heavy workloads
    Cons:
    • No display is included
    • Listing does not specify CPU and GPU core counts or a particular storage capacity
    • Compact desktop design offers limited internal upgradeability

    Best for: Editors building a permanent workstation who need a compact desktop, broad connections, and support for up to five external displays.

    Not ideal for: Editors who need a screen and battery built in, or buyers who need confirmed CPU, GPU, and storage configuration details before deciding.

    • Chip:Apple M5 Max
    • Maximum unified memory:Up to 128GB
    • Memory bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
    • Thunderbolt:4 Thunderbolt 5 ports
    • Other ports:2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC card slot, headphone jack
    • External displays:Up to 5
    • Dimensions:7.76 × 7.76 × 3.74 inches
    • Weight:5.94 pounds
    Our verdict
    “I recommend this as the most capable desk-centered pick in the lineup when the five-display support and M5 Max configuration suit your editing setup.”
  2. Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD

    Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD

    Best Specified Configuration for Memory-Heavy Editing

    View on Amazon

    The M4 Max Mac Studio is the clearest choice here for editors who want a fully specified high-memory desktop. Its 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, and 2TB SSD are all stated in the listing. That gives a buyer a more concrete picture of the configuration than the M5 Max Studio listing, which specifies a memory ceiling and bandwidth but leaves CPU and GPU core counts and storage capacity open.

    Compared with that newer Mac Studio, this model trades the stated M5 Max generation and five-display ceiling for a documented 40-core GPU and included 2TB SSD. Those details may be more useful to an editor who wants to know what storage and memory configuration is on the table from the start. Its 7.7-inch-square footprint and quiet thermal system also suit a desk where space and noise matter.

    The main practical caveat is that the listing does not describe a display, and its connectivity information only names Thunderbolt 5. Editors with several monitors, card readers, or external drives should check the full port configuration before choosing it over the 2026 Studio. The 128GB memory and 2TB SSD may also be more capacity than a beginner or a single-camera editor needs.

    Pros:
    • Specified 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU
    • 128GB unified memory for projects with substantial app and media demands
    • 2TB SSD included in the stated configuration
    • Compact enclosure and quiet thermal system
    Cons:
    • No display is included or described
    • Listing does not state external display capacity or a complete port list
    • High memory and storage capacity may exceed basic editing needs

    Best for: Editors who want a compact desktop with a stated 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, and 2TB SSD.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a built-in screen, need confirmed multi-monitor support and a full port list, or have modest editing workloads.

    • Chip:Apple M4 Max
    • CPU:16-core
    • GPU:40-core
    • Unified memory:128GB
    • Storage:2TB SSD
    • Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5
    • Enclosure:7.7-inch square
    Our verdict
    “I would choose this M4 Max Mac Studio when a clearly stated 128GB and 2TB desktop configuration matters more than the newer M5 Max generation.”
  3. Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch Laptop with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD – Space Black

    Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch Laptop with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD - Space Black

    Best Portable Workstation with a Specified 40-Core GPU

    View on Amazon

    This MacBook Pro is the strongest portable alternative for editors who want a stated 40-core GPU, 128GB of memory, and 2TB SSD in one machine. Its built-in 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR screen lets you edit without bringing a separate monitor, while support for four external displays can extend a desk setup when you are back at a studio. The listed three Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI, and SDXC slot also help with common editing peripherals and camera media.

    Against the 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pro in Silver, this Space Black listing makes its 40-core GPU and 2TB SSD explicit and adds a detailed brightness and contrast description. Both listings identify the same 18-core CPU and 128GB memory, however, so color is not a meaningful editing advantage by itself. Compared with either Mac Studio, this laptop brings its display and mobility but has fewer listed Thunderbolt ports than the 2026 desktop.

    Its large memory capacity is suited to demanding timelines and apps that keep many assets in active use, but the 4.73-pound weight of the separate 48GB laptop illustrates the portability compromise across this 16-inch family. The screen is bright and high contrast on paper, yet editors working with color-critical footage may still want to confirm their calibration workflow. This is a portable workstation with a built-in screen, not the best fit for someone who only needs a fixed desktop tower.

    Pros:
    • 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
    • 128GB unified memory and 2TB SSD
    • 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display with up to 1600 nits peak brightness
    • Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, SDXC, and support for up to four external displays
    Cons:
    • Laptop form factor adds weight compared with carrying only a desktop computer between fixed setups
    • High memory configuration may be unnecessary for straightforward projects
    • Listing does not establish battery runtime for a specific editing workload

    Best for: Mobile editors who want an M5 Max laptop with specified 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, a 2TB SSD, and a built-in XDR display.

    Not ideal for: Editors who work exclusively at a fixed desk and would rather choose a desktop with the stated five-display support and more Thunderbolt 5 ports.

    • Chip:Apple M5 Max
    • CPU:18-core
    • GPU:40-core with Neural Accelerator
    • Display:16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR
    • Unified memory:128GB
    • Storage:2TB SSD
    • Ports:3 Thunderbolt 5, MagSafe 3, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
    • External displays:Up to 4
    Our verdict
    “This is my portable pick for editors who need 128GB memory and a stated 40-core GPU without giving up an integrated display.”
  4. Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Silver

    Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Silver

    Best Silver Portable Alternative for a Four-Display Setup

    View on Amazon

    This Silver MacBook Pro offers nearly the same core editing configuration as the Space Black 128GB model: M5 Max, an 18-core CPU, a 40-core GPU, 128GB memory, and a 2TB SSD. Its 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display and support for up to four external monitors suit an editor who divides work between a laptop screen and a larger desk setup. The listed SDXC slot and HDMI output also reduce the need to rely entirely on adapters.

    Its place below the other 128GB laptop is mostly a matter of listing detail: the Space Black version explicitly names a GPU with Neural Accelerator and provides more display brightness and contrast figures. This Silver model still specifies the same core CPU and GPU counts, memory, storage, and external display capacity. For video editing, the color choice does not change the stated core configuration, so I would compare the exact seller configuration and included details rather than assume a performance difference.

    Unlike the Mac Studio options, the MacBook Pro includes a screen and can move between locations, but its listing does not give an exact battery runtime. At a desk, the M5 Max Studio lists four Thunderbolt 5 ports and support for five external displays, while this laptop lists three Thunderbolt 5 ports and four displays. If portability is secondary and the laptop screen will stay closed, the desktop may be a better match.

    Pros:
    • 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
    • 128GB unified memory and 2TB SSD
    • 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display
    • Three Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI, SDXC, and support for four external displays
    Cons:
    • No exact battery runtime is provided in the listing
    • Three Thunderbolt ports versus four on the listed M5 Max Mac Studio
    • The 128GB configuration may be unnecessary for simpler editing projects

    Best for: Editors seeking a 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pro with a built-in XDR display and four-display support, in Silver.

    Not ideal for: Fixed-desk editors who want the desktop’s stated fifth display connection, or buyers who require exact battery-life details before purchase.

    • Chip:Apple M5 Max
    • CPU:18-core
    • GPU:40-core
    • Display:16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR
    • Unified memory:128GB
    • Storage:2TB SSD
    • Ports:3 Thunderbolt 5, MagSafe 3, SDXC, HDMI, headphone jack
    • External displays:Up to 4
    Our verdict
    “I see this as a capable mobile workstation whose main distinction from its Space Black counterpart is the listed finish and level of configuration detail.”
  5. Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space Black

    Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space Black

    Best Lower-Memory Portable Option

    View on Amazon

    This 48GB MacBook Pro is the more restrained portable configuration in a group otherwise dominated by 128GB memory options. It keeps the stated M5 Max chip, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, and 2TB SSD, with a 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display. Editors who need to move between a home office, set, and client location can take the screen with them instead of relying on the fixed display setup required by a Mac Studio.

    Compared with the two 128GB MacBook Pros, the key tradeoff is less unified memory, not a different stated CPU or GPU core count. That can make this configuration a more sensible fit for projects that do not need the larger memory capacity, while the 2TB SSD remains useful for apps and active media. The listing supports up to four external displays and includes Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, and SDXC, though the Mac Studio M5 Max has four Thunderbolt 5 ports and supports one more external display.

    The laptop weighs 4.73 pounds, so its mobility comes with a real carry burden. Its listing mentions all-day battery life but does not define runtime under an editing workload; demanding timelines and external devices can change what a working day looks like. I would pick it for mobile editing with moderate memory needs, and skip it if the 128GB MacBook Pros’ larger capacity is central to a heavy multitasking or effects workflow.

    Pros:
    • M5 Max with 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU
    • 48GB unified memory paired with a 2TB SSD
    • Built-in 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display
    • Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, SDXC, and support for up to four external displays
    Cons:
    • Less memory than either 128GB MacBook Pro configuration
    • Weighs 4.73 pounds
    • Battery runtime for video editing is not specified

    Best for: Editors who need a portable 16-inch workstation and expect 48GB memory to cover their projects.

    Not ideal for: Editors who routinely work with unusually memory-intensive timelines, many active applications, or who want the Mac Studio’s desktop connectivity.

    • Chip:Apple M5 Max
    • CPU:18-core
    • GPU:40-core
    • Display:16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR
    • Unified memory:48GB
    • Storage:2TB SSD
    • Weight:4.73 pounds
    • External displays:Up to 4
    Our verdict
    “This is the sensible mobile pick when you want the M5 Max and 2TB SSD but do not need the 128GB memory configurations above it.”
mac studio for video editing
What makes a great mac studio for video editing
1
Choose desktop or laptop first
The Mac Studio suits a permanent workstation with a dedicated display, audio setup, and external storage.
2
Match unified memory to your projects
Unified memory is shared across the system rather than serving as a separate pool only for the GPU.
3
Plan internal and external storage
Among these five listings, several configurations state a 2TB SSD , while the 2026 M5 Max Mac Studio listing does not name a parti
4
Count ports and displays at your desk
Editors often connect a monitor, fast media storage, card readers, and audio equipment at once.
How to choose your mac studio for video editing
1
How we picked
I ranked these five systems around the needs implied by video editing : chip generation, GPU configuration where specifi
2
Choose desktop or laptop first
The Mac Studio suits a permanent workstation with a dedicated display, audio setup, and external storage.
3
Match unified memory to your projects
Unified memory is shared across the system rather than serving as a separate pool only for the GPU.
4
Plan internal and external storage
Among these five listings, several configurations state a 2TB SSD , while the 2026 M5 Max Mac Studio listing does not na
5
Count ports and displays at your desk
Editors often connect a monitor, fast media storage, card readers, and audio equipment at once.
Vetted mac studio for video editing ·
The best mac studio for video editing, compared
★ Winner Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
Best Overall Mac Studio for a Multi-Display Editing Suite
5compared
128GBtop unified memory
2chips

How We Picked

I ranked these five systems around the needs implied by video editing: chip generation, GPU configuration where specified, unified memory, storage, display setup, and the connections available for drives and monitors. The product information gives detailed CPU and GPU counts for some models but not all, so I avoid treating missing figures as proof of weaker performance.

The Mac Studio models lead for desk-based workflows because they are desktop systems with compact enclosures and extensive connectivity described in the listings. The M5 Max model ranks first for its newer stated chip generation and support for up to five external displays. The M4 Max model follows with a specified 40-core GPU, 128GB memory, and 2TB SSD. The MacBook Pros follow as portable alternatives: the two 128GB models prioritize memory capacity, and the 48GB model trades some capacity for a more accessible configuration within this specific lineup. I do not use prices, customer ratings, or claims of hands-on testing to set the order.

For each pick, I weigh who benefits from its configuration against the limitations that matter at an editing desk. The listings do not establish real-world render times, sustained performance under a particular codec, or exact battery life for every laptop. I therefore focus on disclosed specifications and explain where a buyer should check compatibility or plan for separate equipment.

Feature comparison
mac studio for video editingChipExternal displays
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Apple M5 MaxUp to 5
Apple Mac Studio with M4 MaxApple M4 Max—
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch LaApple M5 MaxUp to 4
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wiApple M5 MaxUp to 4
Apple MacBook Pro 16.2-inch wiApple M5 MaxUp to 4
Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which mac studio for video editing fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Mac Studio For Video Editing

I would start by matching the computer to the shape of your editing day. Mac Studio is a fixed desktop that needs a separate display, while MacBook Pro bundles a screen and battery. Then I would check the footage and app demands that affect memory, storage, and connections.

Choose desktop or laptop first

The Mac Studio suits a permanent workstation with a dedicated display, audio setup, and external storage. The 2026 M5 Max listing supports up to five external displays and describes four Thunderbolt 5 ports. MacBook Pro makes more sense when editing happens in different places or you need a self-contained screen. Its listed models support up to four external displays, but also add a 16.2-inch panel to the kit.

Think about where your media will live and how you connect it. A desktop can remain connected to drives and monitors, while a laptop can travel with the project. Neither form factor removes the need to plan backups and workspace storage.

Match unified memory to your projects

Unified memory is shared across the system rather than serving as a separate pool only for the GPU. The two 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pros and the 128GB M4 Max Mac Studio provide more stated capacity than the 48GB M5 Max laptop. That extra capacity can be useful when a project keeps high-resolution media, effects, and several apps active at once.

More memory is not automatically a better fit for every editor. If your workflow is simpler, compare the actual apps and formats you use before choosing a configuration. The listings do not provide performance benchmarks for specific editing software or codecs.

Plan internal and external storage

Among these five listings, several configurations state a 2TB SSD, while the 2026 M5 Max Mac Studio listing does not name a particular storage capacity. Internal storage needs to accommodate apps, cache, and the media you want immediately available. Video files can occupy space quickly, so many editors also use external drives or a shared storage system.

Check the exact configuration before ordering the M5 Max Studio, and include compatible external storage in your setup plan. Its listing names Thunderbolt 5 and USB connections, while the M4 Max Studio listing only identifies Thunderbolt 5 connectivity.

Count ports and displays at your desk

Editors often connect a monitor, fast media storage, card readers, and audio equipment at once. The 2026 Mac Studio describes four Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI, SDXC, USB-A, and USB-C, plus up to five external displays. The MacBook Pros list three Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI, and SDXC, with up to four external displays.

The M4 Max Studio information supplied here does not state a full port list or display limit. If you plan a multi-monitor room, confirm those details against the exact configuration. Also consider whether your peripherals connect directly or require a dock.

Treat laptop display and mobility as a package

The 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display gives each MacBook Pro a built-in workspace, with the Space Black 128GB listing specifying up to 1600 nits peak brightness. That is convenient for location work and reduces the equipment you need to carry beyond the computer itself. The 4.73-pound weight listed for the 48GB model is a reminder that a large-screen workstation is still a substantial laptop.

A Mac Studio leaves display choice to you, which helps when you already own a calibrated monitor or need a particular size. For color-sensitive work, plan to check the complete monitor and calibration workflow rather than judging solely from a screen brightness specification.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Mac Studio is the best fit for video editing in this lineup?

I would start with the 2026 Mac Studio with M5 Max for a fixed editing suite. It lists up to five external displays, four Thunderbolt 5 ports, and a compact enclosure. The M4 Max Studio is a strong alternative if its stated 40-core GPU, 128GB memory, and 2TB SSD match your needs, but its listing gives less detail about display support and ports.

Should I choose a Mac Studio or MacBook Pro for editing?

Choose Mac Studio if your editing setup stays at a desk and you already have, or plan to buy, a display and peripherals. Choose MacBook Pro if you need to edit in multiple locations or value an integrated 16.2-inch screen. The Studio listings describe more desk-oriented connections on the 2026 M5 Max model, while the laptop listings include built-in displays and support up to four external monitors.

Is 48GB of unified memory enough for video editing?

It may suit editors whose projects and apps fit comfortably within that capacity, but needs depend on footage, effects, and multitasking. In this roundup, the 48GB MacBook Pro shares the stated M5 Max, 18-core CPU, 40-core GPU, and 2TB SSD with the larger-memory laptops. If your workflow regularly keeps large projects and multiple demanding applications active, compare it carefully with the 128GB choices.

Does a Mac Studio include a display?

No display is included or described for either Mac Studio in the supplied product information. Plan to use a compatible external monitor and account for the cables and other desk equipment your workflow needs. The MacBook Pro options include a 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR display, which is one of their main practical differences from the desktop models.

How much storage should I choose for editing?

Think about how much footage, cache, and project material you want on the internal drive at the same time, then plan external storage for media and backups. Several listings state a 2TB SSD, including the M4 Max Mac Studio and all three MacBook Pros. The M5 Max Mac Studio listing does not specify a storage capacity, so check the exact configuration before deciding.

Conclusion

For a permanent, multi-display editing desk, I recommend the 2026 M5 Max Mac Studio, provided its exact storage and CPU/GPU configuration fit your needs. Choose the M4 Max Mac Studio if you value a clearly stated 40-core GPU, 128GB memory, and 2TB SSD in a compact desktop. For editors who travel, the 128GB M5 Max MacBook Pro with a specified 40-core GPU is the most fully detailed portable workstation here; its Silver counterpart offers the same stated core counts and capacity. Pick the 48GB MacBook Pro if mobility matters and your projects do not call for the larger memory configurations. Before ordering any of them, check that the listed configuration matches your footage, display count, and storage plan.

FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

15 Best Cold Brew Makers for Your Fridge in 2026 — Easy, Delicious, and Refreshing

Discover the top cold brew makers for fridge storage in 2026. Find the best overall, budget-friendly options, and more to suit your brewing needs.

5 Best White Elephant Gifts Under $50 That Will Steal the Show

Discover the top white elephant gifts under $50 in 2026. From fun gadgets to gourmet treats, find the perfect gag gift or crowd-pleaser in this curated list.

15 Best Solar Panel Kits for Off-Grid Living in 2026 — Power Your Home Sustainably

Compare 15 off-grid solar panel kits for RVs, starter setups, and high-demand homes, with guidance on storage, system sizing, and key tradeoffs.

15 Best Reef-Safe Sunscreen Sticks to Protect Your Skin and the Ocean

Discover the top reef-safe sunscreen sticks for 2026. Find the best options for sensitive skin, travel, kids, and eco-conscious sun protection with our expert guide.